Ballon d’Or 2021: Date, time, favourites, finalists, how to watch in Australia and betting odds

One of the most prestigious individual awards in world football will be awarded on Tuesday (AEDT) when the 2021 men and women winners of the Golden Ball (Golden Ball) will be revealed.

The awards return after a one-year hiatus caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. A formal ceremony will take place in Paris and will be broadcast to a global audience. The best young male player (Cup Trophy) and top male goalkeeper (Yashin Trophy) will also be recognized.

Lionel Messi could win a record of the seventh men’s Balloon, although Bayern Munich and Poland forward Robert Lewandowski is considered deserved by many, especially after missing last year when the Balloon was scraped.

Messi was the last player to win the award, winning the honor in 2019, and he and eternal rival Cristiano Ronaldo shared 11 of the last 12 Ballon d’Or trophies. Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric is the only man to break their duopoly, winning in 2018, but he is not among the 30 finalists in 2021. The first men’s Golden Balloon was awarded in 1956.

There are 20 candidates for the Women’s Balloon. Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas and Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema are among the best while Australia will be represented by Matildas star Sam Kerr. The last winner – Megan Rapinoe in 2019 – is not a finalist, but there are three Canadian Olympic gold medal winners and one American, Samantha Mewis, who is unlikely to win due to the stiff competition.

How to look at 2021 Golden Balloon in Australia?

The winners of the 2021 Golden Balloon will be announced at a party in Paris on Tuesday, November 30 (AEDT). The event will be broadcast live on Australian television via SBS, while it can also be broadcast online via SBS and L’Equipe’s You Tube.

The ceremony at the Théâtre du Chatelet will reveal the male and female winners of the Balloon, the Cup Trophy (best under-21 young player) and the Yashin Trophy (best goalkeeper).

There were six editions (2010 through 015) in which the Balloon, run by French weekly France Football, was known as the FIFA Balloon after it merged with the FIFA Player of the Year award. FIFA was released and started The Best FIFA Football Awards starting with 2016 (awarded in January 2017).

Who will win the Golden Balloon?

According to American sports books DraftKings and Pointsbest and Canada’s Sports Interaction, it is essentially a two-horse race. Lionel Messi is a favorite at DraftKings and Sports Interaction, while Robert Lewandowski is a bit of a favorite at Pointsbet.

Without slamdunk candidates this year, there has been a lot of media talk over the summer about Chelsea and Italy midfielder. Jorginho possibly appearing as a surprise winner after his role in Italy’s victory at Euro 2021. Then Liverpool Mohamed Salah won media coverage with his hot start to the 2021-22 season in the Premier League just as voters presented their rankings in October.

But there seems to be a consensus that Messi’s first trophy with Argentina’s senior national team at the 2021 America’s Cup will turn the tide in his favor, even ahead of productive Lewandowski, who set a one-season goal record in the Bundesliga and currently surpasses the voting. List of UEFA Champions League scorers. Lewandowski has more goals from 2021 than Messi (64-41) and more club trophies (3-1). He could get the nod from voters because he was the favorite last year before the 2020 award was canceled.

CBS ‘team of football analysts, including Thierry Henry, the runner-up in the 2013 Golden Ball, believe Messi will win, although they would rather see others. Henry and Alex Scott were separated on the women’s award.

How does voting for the Golden Ball work?

Voting for the men’s Balloon and the Yashin Trophy closed on October 24. A panel of 180 journalists around the world was asked to vote (via a secure email system) based on criteria including individual and team performance in 2021, the player’s player. talent and athleticism, and the player’s overall career.

About 40 to 50 female football journalists vote for the women’s Golden Balloon, while the 32 former men’s Golden Balloon votes for the best under-21 men’s player (Cup Trophy).

Each voter for the Golden Balloon (men and women) gives their top five; voters for the Cup Trophy and Yashin Trophy submit top three. In each case, points are allocated to each placement and the player with the most points wins the prize.

The voting results will be published in the December 4 issue of France Football.

According to the editor-in-chief of France Football, the editorial staff of the weekly draws up the list of finalists before distributing it to voters.

Who are the Ballon d’Or finalists?

Here is the full list of nominees for the four different awards. There are 30 names for the men’s award, 20 for the women’s Balloon and 10 each for the Kopa and Yashin awards.

2021 Balloon – Men

Name Position Club National Team
César Azpilicueta DF Chelsea Spain
Nicolo Barella MF Inter Milano Italy
Karim Benzema FW Real Madrid France
Leonardo Bonucci DF Juventus Italy
Giorgio Chiellini DF Juventus Italy
Kevin De Bruyne MF Manchester City Belgium
Ruben Dias DF Manchester City Portugal
Gianluigi Donnarumma GK PSG Italy
Bruno Fernandes MF Manchester United Portugal
Phil Foden FW Manchester City England
Erling Haaland FW Borussia Dortmund Norway
Jorginho MF Chelsea Italy
Harry Kane FW Tottenham Hotspur England
N’Golo Kante MF Chelsea France
Simon kjaer DF AC Milan Denmark
Robert Lewandowski FW Bayern Munich Germany
Romelu Lukaku FW Chelsea Belgium
Riyad Mahrez FW Manchester City Algeria
Lautaro Martinez FW Inter Milano Argentina
Kylian Mbappe FW PSG France
Lionel Messi FW PSG Argentina
Luke Modric MF Real Madrid Croatia
Gerard Moreno FW Villarreal Spain
Mason mountain MF Chelsea England
Neymar FW PSG Brazil
Pedri MF FC Barcelona Spain
Cristiano Ronaldo FW Manchester United Portugal
Mohamed Salah FW Liverpool Egypt
Raheem Sterling FW Manchester City England
Luis Suarez placeholder image FW Athletics Madrid Uruguay

2021 Balloon – Women

Name Position Club National Team
Stina Blackstenius FW BK hooks Sweden
Kadidiatou Diani FW PSG France
Christiane Endler GK Olympic lion Chile
Magdalena Eriksson DF Chelsea Sweden
Jessie Fleming MF Chelsea Canada
Pernille Harder FW Chelsea Denmark
Jennifer Hermoso FW FC Barcelona Spain
Marie-Antoinette Katoto FW PSG France
Sam Kerr FW Chelsea Australia
Fran Kirby FW Chelsea England
Ashley Lawrence DF PSG Canada
Lieke Martens MF FC Barcelona The Netherlands
Samantha Mewis MF NC Courage United States
Vivianne Miedema FW Arsenal The Netherlands
Sandra Panos GK FC Barcelona Spain
Irene Paredes DF FC Barcelona Spain
Alexia whores MF FC Barcelona Spain
Wendie Renard DF Olympic lion France
Christine Sinclair FW Portland Thorns Canada
Ellen White FW Manchester City England

2021 Cup Trophy finalists

Name Position Club National Team
Jude Bellingham MF Borussia Dortmund England
Jeremy Doku FW Rennes Belgium
Ryan Gravenberch MF Ajax The Netherlands
Mason Greenwood FW Manchester United England
Nuno mendes DF PSG Portugal
Jamal Musiala MF Bayern Munich Germany
Pedri MF FC Barcelona Spain
Giovanni Reyna MF Borussia Dortmund United States
Bukayo Saka FW Arsenal England
Florian Wirtz MF Bayer Leverkusen Germany

2021 Yashin Trophy finalists

Name Position Club National Team
Thibaut Courtois GK Real Madrid Belgium
Gianluigi Donnarumma GK PSG Italy
Ederson GK Manchester City Brazil
Samir Handanovic GK Inter Milano Slovenia
Emiliano Martinez GK Aston Villa Argentina
Edouard Mendy GK Chelsea Senegal
Keylor Navas GK PSG Costa Rica
Manuel Neuer GK Bayern Munich Germany
Jan Oblak GK Athletics Madrid Slovenia
Kasper Schmeichel GK Leicester City Denmark

Leave a Reply